American Society of Engineering Education - North Central Section Spring Conference 2018

Full Program »

View File

An Analysis of ABET's Revised Criteria for Accrediting Computing Programs

Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET has published revised Criteria for Accrediting Computing Programs in fall 2017. The new criteria apply to computer science, information technology, information systems, and similarly named computing programs. Institutions will require to use the revised criteria starting the 2019-2020 accreditation cycle. Programs that will undergo review during the 2018-2019 accreditation cycle will have the option to select either the new or old criteria.

For a successful accreditation review, ABET requires every program to satisfy its general criteria as well as program criteria. The general criteria has eight components, viz., 1) students, 2) program educational objectives, 3) student outcomes, 4) continuous improvement, 5) curriculum, 6) faculty, 7) facilities, and 8) institutional support. The program criteria have discipline specific requirements. The published revisions stay focused in the area of general criteria 3 (student outcomes) and criteria 5 (curriculum) and program criteria for computer science, information technology, and information systems.

In this paper, we plan to compare the old and new criteria and provide a recommendation of the additional topics that may be required to satisfy the new criteria for each of the programs mentioned above.

Debatosh Debnath
Oakland University
United States

Dae-Kyoo Kim
Oakland University
United States

Lunjin Lu
Oakland University
United States


Powered by OpenConf®
Copyright©2002-2017 Zakon Group LLC